Man Colds

Two posts in one day means I must be relatively new to this. My blog has zero hits, which actually makes it a diary. I’m okay with that. Are you? Yes. (I answer myself because no one else is listening).

 Okay, on to the reason I sat down to write. Man Colds.

What is a Man Cold?

A man cold is the male version of Acute viral nasopharyngitis, commonly known as the common cold.

My husband suffers with some regularity from man colds. In his defence, he works with children. As he walks down the school hallway on any given winter day, he might be chased by a number of virus coated twerps who use droplets of their green snot to chart their way through the universe. Here I was, here is my snot. 

So he catches a lot of colds. Then I catch them from him. But he catches the Man Cold version, far more debilitating than anything I’ve ever caught.

As colds go, worse only than my husband is my father. The only thing I remember about being sick as a kid was the efforts undertaken, at all costs, to avoid passing whatever ailed me on to my father. For I knew what would happen should he wake with a sniffle with any sort of timely proximity to my own.

You, he’s say through snot, you gave me this.

When my mother got sick, she picked up a pack of kleenex on her way home from work, stuffed it in her purse, moaned after an especially large sneeze and otherwise went about her life.

When my father was sick, our little familial world grinded to a halt. His moans, akin to some kind of death rattle, wafted out of my parents’ bedroom. My mother would emerge, her hands full of empty bowls and cups, and close the door behind her. We stood wide-eyed in the hallway, clutching our teddies and wondering whether we’d ever see my father again.

Don’t go in there, she’d say, rolling her eyes.

At night, I swear I could hear him through the walls, moaning, groaning, begging the virus for mercy.

Twenty odd years later, I live with a new, super-virus version of the Man Cold. When my hubby gets sick, he stops at the grocer and buys 6 boxes of tissue, a Club Pak. He searches the medicine cabinet for boxes that say the word Cold in bold. He lies in bed beside me, tossing and lamenting the throes of his disease, breathing through his mouth, his hairline rimmed with sweat.

I swear, I really do want to feel bad for him and nurse him like a good wife, but I look at him instead and think: Gross.

By the second or third day my patience wears off and I start with the Man Cold accusations. My husband takes this as well as my father used to take it when my mother hurled the same accusation at him, which is to say not very well.

It’s not the same cold you had! he’ll insist. This is WAY worse!

mmmmmhmmmmm. 

~ by thebookofmommy on February 13, 2008.

5 Responses to “Man Colds”

  1. Someone posted your blog link on the Facebook I am Mom page, so here I am. LOL about the man cold. It’s always the way, isn’t it? At the first sign of a sniffle my husband pulls out the thermometer and banishes himself to our bedroom, leaving me to the chaos that ensues with two kids, a cat and a full time job. How old is your son? My daughter is 5.5 yrs and my son is 20 mos.

  2. Have you ever heard “If you need someone who can find time to do a new project, find the busiest person, they have the best time management skills” This is similar.

    If a woman gets sick, she can’t just clock out and feel sorry for herself. Life goes on. Paychecks need to be earned, kids need to be fed, whatever happens to fill your life.

    For men…things are completely different. If we are lucky, we have a wife who takes care of us. And a male boss. Male bosses suffer just like male employees. They see you sick and say “Why don’t you take the afternoon off…and have your wife take care of you.” That second part is usually just implied.

    Compare this to my female supervisor a few years back. She swings by my office and sees me suffering. “What’s wrong with you?” “*gasp* Body aches. Stomach aches. Head aches. Only *gasp* glasses holding my eyes in. Fever. Fluids oozing.” She stares at me for a moment as says “So, what do you want me to do about it? Are you going to finish that report on time?”

    Men who suffer from man colds are those who are lucky enough to be doted on by well meaning spouses/moms/etc. Paradoxically, their affections serve to amplify the debilitation felt by all pathologies.

  3. Kelly… you are so right. Women are totally martyrs when it comes to getting sick. My mother is as much a martyr as my father is a wimp!

    I realize too that I wrote two back to back blogs slogging men. Not fair. My next entry will be far kinder to the kind sex.

  4. I totally feel you – my get horribly sick and my boyfriend complains about being bored while i nap and rolls his eyes while i make myself soup. but then when he gets my cold a couple days later calls me up and begs for babying. ugh. men. 🙂

  5. I remember clearly a couple of years ago I was diagnosed with a mild case of pnemonia (is that ever really mild?) and I was on Z-pak and had an inhaler by my side at all times. I was running fevers, and in so much pain….and where was I? I was moving our household goods after the worst military move ever! Driving a U-haul, and at the very end of it all, dropped the appliance hand truck on my left toe, severing nerves and leaving a bloody mess all over.

    ……..and we still unpacked the next day, and finished the move with a limping mommy, still clutching the inhaler–lol.

    On the other side…my husband god a cold, and while I do love him to death it became the most dramatic event in our lives, second to nothing!

    But it’s really just a matter of perspective. If men were strong enough to cope with what women go through…okay that won’t happen. But can you imagine if the cold causes such a ruckus…what would happen if they had to give birth!? We’d need mandatory bomb shelters! 😀

Leave a comment